2020 Highlights MLK VOICE 4 YOUTH

A- A A+

Logo MLK_Voice4Youth

Highlights 2020 MLK VOICE 4 YOUTH


First Prize $2,000 – Nyani Scott, Dover High School (Grade 11)
Second Prize $1,000 – Rishima Mall, Charter School of Wilmington (Grade 10)
Third Prize $500 – Emily Chmiel & Lucia Gotera, Charter School of Wilmington (Grade 11)

 a boy in my school said white privilege was a myth
i told him that his humor consisted of racism, sexism, and homophobia
and he could 100% still be a successful comedian …

That was how Nyani Scott, a junior from Dover High School, began her winning presentation that earned her $2,000.  The first prize sponsored by the Quintin E. Primo Fund for Racial Justice was presented by last year’s winner, Deborah Olatunji.  Second Prize of $1,000 sponsored by WSFS Bank was presented by Shari Custin to Rishima Mall, a sophomore from the Charter School of Wilmington.  Emily Chmiel & Lucia Gotera, also from the Charter School of Wilmington took home the $500 third prize sponsored by the Rotary Club of Wilmington and presented by Kai Lassen, Past President.  In addition to the cash prizes, all finalists received a $50 gift card presented by Matt Meyer, New Castle County Executive.

Seven inspiring performances were presented by ten fearless contestants Sunday afternoon, January 19, 2020 at the baby grand in Wilmington.  The finalists were selected at the semifinals the weekend before in Dover and Wilmington.  For the first time, a trio from St. Andrew’s School in Middletown competed against five solo performers and one duo.   Their creative, very powerful messages referenced Dr. King’s lesser known speeches and captivated the audience.   The other finalists were:  Fanta-Jamila Barry, St. George’s Technical High School (Grade 10); Messiah DeSisso, Stephanie Tanoh, & Bwembya Tembo, St. Andrew’s School (all Grade 12); Lindsay Fomundam, Early College High School (Grade 9); and Da’Jour Jones, Cab Calloway School of the Arts (Grade 10).


2020 and 2019 Voice 4 Youth Winners with Jane Rubini
Clockwise: 2020 Winners, Rishima Mall, Lucia Gotera, Emily Chmiel & Nyani Scott, along with 2019 winner Deborah Olatunji & Jane Rubini


Download full story.